Madlib and Four Tet Announce Release Date of Collab Album 'Sound Ancestors'

Madlib and Four Tet have revealed a January 29 release date for their collaborative album, Sound Ancestors.

The forthcoming project is set to feature 16 tracks including the previously-released cuts “Road of the Lonely Ones” and “Hopprock.” Four Tet shared in a previous statement that they’ve been working on the album for a few years now: “He is always making loads of music in all sorts of styles and I was listening to some of his new beats and studio sessions when I had the idea that it would be great to hear some of these ideas made into a Madlib solo album. Not made into beats for vocalists to use but instead arranged into tracks that could all flow together in an album designed to be listened to start to finish.”

He added, “I put this concept to him when we were hanging out eating some nice food one day and we decided to work on this together with him sending me tracks, loops, ideas and experiments that I would arrange, edit, manipulate and combine. I was sent hundreds of pieces of music over a couple of years stretch and during that time I put together this album with all the parts that fitted with my vision.”

Take a look at the complete tracklist below. Sound Ancestors drops January 29 via Madlib Invazion.

Sound Ancestors Tracklist:
01. “There Is No Time” (Prelude)
02. “The Call”
03. “Theme De Crabtree”
04. “Road of the Lonely Ones”
05. “Loose Goose”
06. “Dirtknock”
07. “Hopprock”
08. “Riddim Chant”
09. “Sound Ancestors”
10. “One For Quartabê/Right Now”
11. “Hang Out (Phone Off)”
12. “Two for 2 -For Dilla”
13. “Latino Negro”
14. “The New Normal”
15. “Chino”
16. “Duumbiyay”

In other music news, MF DOOM’s birthday has been confirmed to be in July and not January.
Source: Read Full Article